DBS committees (10-5-2025)

PGAC

Partha P. Datta (convener)

Rituparna Sinha Roy (co-convener)

Sumit Sen Santra

Anuradha Bhat

Babu Sudhamalla

Support: Somnath Haldar (general), Dipesh Dutta (interview board related)

Mandate: PhD admissions and PhD student evaluation policies

UGAC

Radhika Venkatesan (convener)

Malancha Ta (co-convener)

Tapas Sengupta

Dipjyoti Das

Sankar Maiti

Anindita Bhadra

Mohit Prasad

Amirul I Mallick

Amit K. Mandal

Bidisha Sinha

Support: Somnath Haldar, Dipesh (iPhD and MR interview related)

Mandate: Undergraduate curriculum, course management, IP admissions, undergraduate thesis advisors, and evaluation

Teaching lab committee

Rahul Das (convener)

UGAC convener

Research committee convener

G. Lekha.

Sudhangsu Maity

Mandate: Teaching lab resource management, purchase of teaching and teaching/ research instruments, committee budget

Research facility maintenance and big grant conceptualization committee (Research Committee)

Babu Sudhamalla- Convener

Sreeram Gangappa (Greenhouse) - co-convener

Bidisha Sinha (Imaging)

Rahul Das (FiC FIST)

S. Gangappa (FiC Greenhouse)

Partha P. Datta (FiC Computation)

Malancha Ta (FiC Cytometers)

Arnab Gupta (Microscopy)

Rupak Datta (common room)

Jayasri Das Sarma (FiC BUILDER and Bio-Bank)

Supratim Datta (common room)

Amirul I Mallick (FiC sequencing)

Radhika Venkatesan (FiC GC-MS)

Anuradha Bhat (FiC Zebra fish, microinjector)

Bidisha Sinha (FiC Imaging)

Mohit Prasad (Past Convener)

Sumit Sen Santara (Safety)

Support Staff: Somnath, Sufal, Soumik, Dipesh, Tamal

Mandate: Management of research facilities by regular (monthly) meetings with operators and planning of big grants for large facilities, budget

Computers Committee

Robert J. Chandran (convener)

Partha P. Datta

Support: Dipesh Dutta

Mandate: Dept computer purchases for faculty and labs and website

DBS annual budget preparation committee

HoD

Previous chair

UGAC convener

Teaching lab committee convener

Research committee convener

Support: Avick Saha, Dipesh Dutta

Mandate: Preparation of the DBS budget by collating requirements across various committees for submission to the Director

Seminar Committee:

Jayasri DasSarma (Convener)

Anuradha Bhat (co-convener)

Babu Sudhanalla (Research Committee)

Radhika Venkatesan (UGAC)

Rituparna Sinha Roy (PGAC)

Support staff: Somnath Haldar, Avick Saha

Mandate: Preparation and scheduling of a list of internal DBS speakers and external invitees, pre-submission seminars

Outreach Committee:

Anindita Bhadra (Convener), Dipjyoti Das (Co-convener),

Sankar Maiti

Radhika Venkatesan,

Amirul Islam Mallick,

Tapas K. Sengupta,

Neelanjana Sengupta (social media)

Rupak Datta

Anuradha Bhat

Support staff: Ritabrata Ghosh, Sudhanshu Maiti, Debabrata Sutradhar

Mandate: Plan and execute outreach activities of the Institute and for DBS across neighboring colleges to attract PhD students. Maintainance of DBS website and advertisement of dept in social media, including developing SOP of posts and what to share. Prepare outreach budget

Space

HoD (convener)

Rahul Das (co-convener)

Arnab Gupta (co-convener)

Rituparna Sinha Roy

Sumana Annagiri (biome)

Punyasloke Bhadury

Amirul I Mallick (pre-fab)

Babu Sudhamalla (Research committee convener)

Rupak Datta (previous chair)

Robert J. Chandran

Support: Dipesh Dutta

Mandate: Plan for existing and new space for DBS faculty, effective utilization of space

Safety

Sumit Sen Santara (convener)
Sankar Maiti (co-convener)

Bidisha Sinha

G. Lekha (teaching labs, common research labs)

Support staff: Ritabrata, Avick, Dipesh

Mandate: Framing and implementing Institute and DBS safety norms. Committee budget.

Biome construction committee

Sumana Annagiri (convener)

HoD

Anuradha Bhat Radhika Venkatesan Punyasloke Bhadury Mohit Prasad Rupak Datta

Mandate: Liaise to ensure the building gets completed in time, provide a plan for occupancy and equipping of labs

DBS Faculty Advisory Committee

HoD (convener)

S. Annagiri

Tapas Sengupta

Jayasri. DasSarma

Punyasloke Bhadury

Mohit Prasad

Rupak Datta

Support staff: Avick Saha

Mandate: Faculty recruitment and planning

Research Incentive Scheme Committee

Rahul Das (Convener)

Sreeram Gangappa (co-convener)

Sumit Sen Santra Neelanjana Sengupta Radhika Venkatesan Mohit Prasad

Mandate: Rules for research incentive scheme and implementation and budget

Library Committee

Rituparna Sinha Roy

Mandate: Representing library-related DBS needs to the library committee. Coordinating with library and dept to optimize electronic library resources needed by DBS

Annual Reports

HoD

Support: Debabrata Sutradhar, Somnath Haldar

Zebra fish and micro-injection committee

Anuradha Bhat (Convener) Sankar Maiti (co-convener)

Rituparna Sinha Roy Arnab Gupta Bidisha Sinha

Support: Sudhangsu, Dipesh **Mandate:** Facility maintenance.

Bio-Bank Committee

Jayasri Das Sarma (convener)

Arnab Gupta Rituparna Sinha Roy Sankar Maiti Bidisha Sinha Babu Sudhamalla Support: Anu Das

Mandate: Developing the modalities for maintaining and sharing cell lines and the possibility of generating resources. Developing a budget for the facility