Cell & Molecular Biology

People in the Lab

Rupak Datta (Principal Investigator)

Education & Training:
1998 – 2000: M.Sc in Biochemistry from University of Calcutta
2000 – 2006: PhD from Indian Institute of Chemical Biology
2006 – 2010: Postdoctoral Fellowship at St. Louis University, USA

Current Position: Associate Professor

Indrani Basu

Education: M.Sc. in Biotechnology from St. Xavier’s College
Current Position: PhD Student (SRF)
Area of Work: Pathogenesis of MPSVII
Email: indranikbasu[at]

Dipon Mondal

Education: M.Sc. in Microbiology from University of Calcutta
Current Position: PhD Student (SRF)
Area of Work: Drug development against Leishmaniasis
Email: mondaldipon111[at]

Sourav Banerjee

Education: M.Sc. in Microbiology from Kalyani University
Current Position: PhD Student (SRF)
Area of Work: Pathogenesis of leishmaniasis
Email: souravbanerjee167[at]

Arunava Seth

Education: B.Sc. in Microbiology from Ramakrishna Mission Vidyamandira, Belur
Current Position: Integrated PhD Student (JRF)
Area of Work:Acid acclimitazation mechanism in Leishmania

Apurba Das

Education: M.Sc. in Biotechnology from Jadavpur University
Current Position: PhD Student (JRF)
Area of Work: Investigating the mechanism of autophagosome-lysosome fusion defect in MPS VII
Email: apurba739[at]

Nishan Mandal

Education: M.Sc. in Zoology from Banaras Hindu University
Current Position: PhD Student (JRF)
Area of Work: Mitochondrial defect and abnormal mitophagy in MPS VII
Email: nishanmandal25[at]

Arpita Pal

Education: B.Sc in Life Sciences from Presidency University, Kolkata
Current Position: Integrated PhD Student (2nd Year)
Area of Work: Role of malic enzyme in Leishmania
Email: palarpai5[at]

Abhishek Ranjan Singh

Education: Pursuing integrated BS-MS from IISER Kolkata
Current Position: 5th year MS Student
Area of Work: Characterization of Leishmania secretome
Email: ars15ms001[at]

Sujoy Bose

Education: M.Sc. in Environmental Science from Vidyasagar University
Current Position: Project Assistant cum Lab Manager
Email: sujoybose11[at]

Lab Alumni:

Mazharul Abbasi (PhD Thesis, 2013 – 2019, moved to Narayangarh Government College, West Bengal, as Assistant Professor of microbiology)
Sudipta Bar (PhD Thesis, 2012 – 2018, moved to Pankaj Kapahi’s lab at Buck Institute for Research on Ageing as postdoc)
Dhiman Sankar Pal (PhD Thesis, 2012 – 2017, moved to Peter Devreotes’s lab at Johns Hopkins University as postdoc)
Ardhendu Mandal (Masters Thesis, 2018 – 2019)
Shashank Srikanta (Masters Thesis, 2016 – 2017, moved to McGill University as PhD student)
Samyuktha Suresh (Masters Thesis, 2016 – 2017, moved to Institut Curie as PhD student)
Priyanka Chowdhury (Masters Thesis, 2014 – 2015, moved to Weill Cornell Medical College as PhD student)
Binitha Anu Varghese (Masters Thesis, 2014 – 2015, moved to Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology as research scholar)
Shalini Singh (Masters Thesis, 2013 – 2014, moved to Indian Institute of Science as PhD student)
Ritama Paul (Masters Thesis, 2013 – 2014, moved to University of Cincinnati as PhD student)
Bappa Shona Baroi (Masters Thesis, 2012 – 2013, moved to Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata to pursue MBA)

Summer Trainees:

Priyajit Biswal (Sambalpur University, 2019); Ashmita Bhattacharjee (Calcutta University, 2019); Esha Sircar (Amity University, Kolkata 2019); Anwesha Paul (Saint Xavier’s College, Kolkata, 2019); Abhishek Ranjan Singh (IISER Kolkata, 2018); Arnab Kundu (Saint Xavier’s College, Kolkata, 2018); Avik Kumar Pal (Ramakrishna Mission Vidyamandira, Belur, 2018); Anirban Roy (Saint Xavier’s College, Kolkata, 2017); Srestha Shaw (IISER Mohali, 2017); Sahanaz Aktar Laskar (Assam University, Silchar, 2017); Haaris Ahsan Safdari (Aligarh Muslim university, 2016); Sanchita Biswas (Calcutta University, 2016); Shraddha Amritkar (Institute of Bioinformatics and Biotechnology, Pune, 2015); Dhiman Ray (IISER Kolkata, 2014); Samyuktha Suresh (IISER Kolkata, 2014); Armita Mitra (Saint Xavier’s College, Kolkata, 2014); Mansi Parasrampuria (Nirma University, Gujrat, 2013); Sri Ragabi Ashok (St. Joseph’s College of Engineering, Chennai, 2013); Ayanjit Bag (Saint Xavier’s College, Kolkata, 2013); Vignesh Karthick (Anna University, Chennai, 2012); Missidona Biswas (Calcutta University, 2012); Madhu Katta (Pondichery University, 2011)